Kindergarten – 5th Grade

Kindergarten

Kindergarten students will begin a unit about Spring.  Students will also be discussing the nursery rhyme Hot Cross Buns and answering questions about what they read and hear.

Kindergarteners are working on tracking print and responding to questions about what they are reading. Students are working on reading tricky words independently.

In writing students will work on responding to writing prompts as well as using transition words in their writing like: “first, then, last.” Students will also continue working on Kindergarten writing conventions. Students are practicing mastering their first and last name writing. Our spelling test will be a review of our spelling lists from this quarter.

In math students are continuing a unit on identifying and describing shapes. Students are also reviewing finding the next number, addition, and subtraction skills for mastery.


Mrs. Vaughn: kvaughn@paramountindy.org

Ms. Graf: mgraf@paramountindy.org

Ms. Cain: bcain@paramountindy.org

Ms. Yeoman: syeoman@paramountindy.org


 

First Grade

Language Arts:

-Using text evidence to answer questions

-Blending and segmenting two-syllable words

-Nouns and pronouns

-Building sentences with adjectives

-Reading Grace

(Read Aloud Quiz Thursday)

Writing:

-Organization

-Beginning, middle, end

-Building up sentences

Social Studies and Science:

*Astronomy

-Stars

-Stargazing and Constellations

(Science quiz Thursday)

Math:

-Compare and order by weight and temperature

-Indirect Measurement

-Use units to measure length

(Math test Thursday)


Mrs. Lawton: blawton@paramountindy.org

Ms. Chestnut: bchestnut@paramountindy.org

Ms. Hancock: khancock@paramountindy.org


 

Second Grade

Language Arts

This week we will be reading several different Greek myths as we study the Greek gods and goddesses.  As we are reading, we will be learning about the characteristics of a fable. A fable is a very short story that often teaches a lesson or moral.  This lesson is often stated at the end of the story.  The characters are often animals that act like people.  Some of the most famous fables came from ancient Greece from a man named Aesop. We will end the week by giving our Greek god or goddesses presentation to the class and having our Greek Olympics!

Mathematics

In math this week, we will be learning about time.  We will learn about elapsed time and be able to tell how much time has passed.  Students should be able to tell how to tell time by looking at the hands on a clock. We will end the week by graphing different Greek food that we try and answering questions based off the information on the graph!

Social Studies

We will finish learning about the butterfly life cycle and the sequence that it occurs in.  We will spend the last three days learning about the Ancient Greek Civilization.  As we are learning about it we will focus on nonfiction text features and how they help give us information and fact about the topic.


Ms. Sauley: ksauley@paramountindy.org

Mrs. Kirk: akirk@paramountindy.org

Ms. Bolek: dbolek@paramountindy.org

 

Third Grade

The third grade students did an amazing job on IREAD this past week. We are so proud of them! This week, we’ll be taking our end of year Reading Acuity test to gauge how much progress the students have made since August.

Spring break will start this Friday, March 24.

Following spring break, we’ll take the end of year Math Acuity.

Looking ahead, the second round of ISTEP will be starting the week of April 17. We will continue to send information about this next step in the testing process.

March 24-April 3: Spring Break!

Reading:

Comprehension:  Fact and opinion, questioning

Vocabulary: Using context clues

ISTEP/Acuity review

Math:

REVIEW: We will be covering major topics from the year, including adding/subtracting, multiplying/dividing, fractions, perimeter/area, and many others.

Social Studies and Science

Current events

Math and Science investigations     

Helpful websites:

IXL.com                      

Pearsonrealize.com

Xtramath.org


Ms. Armington: jarmington@paramountindy.org

Ms. Bishop: ebishop@paramountindy.org

Mrs. Serak: lserak@paramountindy.org

 


 

Fourth Grade

Important News:

* All week – Tutoring continues

Spelling will not be tested this week.

Vocabulary

* ancient: of times long past

* link: anything that joins or connects

* scholars: learned people; people having much knowledge

* seeker: one who tries to find

* temple: building used for service or worship

* translate: to change from one language to another

* triumph: victory; success

* uncover: to make known

Fast Five 1. How does an author support a claim? 2. How can you use correct punctuation in writing? 3. What are the elements of narrative writing? 4. What are the different ways to measure angles? 5. How does the character, Esperanza Rising, impact the story?

Language Arts In reading, we will practice fact and opinion. We will analyze the ways an author can use facts and details to support an opinion. We will also practice using accurate punctuation when writing dates and year. Finally, we will review how to write a narrative story.

Mathematics Our study of geometry continues. Students will learn how to classify triangles and quadrilaterals.

Social Studies We will continue reading “Esperanza Rising” while we learn about the Great Depression.


Ms. Cassidy: mcassidy@paramountindy.org

Ms. Duvall: pduvall@paramountindy.org

Mr. Greene: mgreene@paramountindy.org

 


 

Fifth Grade

mportant News: Mar. 20th – Acuity testing begins Mar. 23rd – Q3 Report Cards; 2:00 Dismissal Mar. 24th – Apr. 2nd – Spring Break

Spelling Words This week’s spelling test will be given Thursday.

  1. absorb
  2. evaporate
  3. suppose
  4. coast
  5. menu
  6. autumn
  7. journey
  8. flavor
  9. substantial
  10. spatial *Must spell and use each word in a sentence correctly.

Homework Monday- Wednesday math skills practice (1 page per day) Study spelling words as needed.

Fast Five

  1. How do characters and setting affect events in the plot?
  2. How do we use context clues to determine the meanings of unknown words?
  3. How can we use details from a fictional story to write a narrative?
  4. How are themes of fictional stories present in our daily lives?
  5. How can we demonstrate place value knowledge?

Language Arts In reading, we will begin our novel study on Bud, Not Buddy. This week we will concentrate on story elements. In vocabulary, we will review how to use context clues to define unknown words. We will review how to use various grammar rules in writing. Our class will use details from the story to write a narrative.

Mathematics This week, we will review how decimals, fractions, and percents are related using place value knowledge and number lines. Students will practice this skill by solving multistep word problems.
ELA & Math Through Social Studies We will use the skills we learn in ELA and math this week to learn about the stock market, both historically and current practices.



Ms. Bouckley:
mbouckley@paramountindy.org

Ms. Monk: jmonk@paramountindy.org

Ms. Wehmeier: nwehmeier@paramountindy.org

TOP